Bhagavad Gita (1) Christian Paaske @ Yoga for Alle

Christian Paaske started his lessons at Yoga For Alle this week. If you did not have the chance to go you can watch it in norwegian. Paaske did clarify in a comment in Norwegian how do understand the below. I still don´t get it so I try to follow the lecture and book, and hopefully I get a clearer picture at the end.

The Vedanta consists of three texts the Vedas, the Bhagavad Gita and the Brahma Sutra. 

Jnana yoga, the path to knowledge and wisdom, have one main question, who are we? am I? In the Vedas there are 4 themes that answer this question:

  1. Dharma – the laws of the univers, the nature of all things. Like what does the sun do it shines.
  2. Moksha – Liberation.
  3. Artha – our basic needs have to be met before we can do anything else.
  4. Kama – pleasure and wellness in life. You find it in Ayuerveda, Feng Shui, Astrology and the Kama Sutra.

We are looking at 1 and 2 in this series of talks. There is nothing to believe in and non – dualism exist. By the way, the Upanishads comes from the Vedas. 

The Bhagavad Gita is a text from the Mahabharata, and symbolises and a person´s inner conflict. The BG consists of three parts, Karma Yoga chapters 1-6, Bhakti Yoga chapters 7-12 and Jnana yoga chapters13-18. It is all about conciousness and what it is like to be human. Krishna is God, and Arjuna´s guide, in Arjuna´s inner war. The war takes place on the fields of Kurukshetra. According to Paaske the main message is «I am the electricity not the lightbulb.» Chapter 2 is the most famous one.

In his search for understanding Vedanta Paaske was adviced to see YouTube videos of James Schwartz. Schwartz has a course in the Vedanta for beginners. Paaske also said Ramana Maharshi is the clearest interpreter of Vedanta. 


Published by Kirsti Sandgren

Yoga teacher | Healing pain through yoga | Travel | MSc Economics | Books | 💜 |

2 thoughts on “Bhagavad Gita (1) Christian Paaske @ Yoga for Alle

  1. Siden foredragsserien er på norsk tillater jeg meg å svare på norsk.

    Vedaene er de opprinnlige skriftene. Vedanta er om dharma og moksha, ja.
    Vedanta består av et ubegrenset antall skrifter og lærere. Kommentarer og utdypning av vedaene er Upanishadene. Igjen en stor samling av ulike skrifter. Bhagavad Gita er en av de mest berømte Upanishadene. Likedan Braham Sutra, – men alt for avansert for folk flest.

    Not who are we – but who am I?
    Vedanta answers this question….

    Jeg er litt mer usikker på denne tredelingen av Bhagavad Gita. Temaene går over i hverandre, men det er en populær oppfatning.

    Mye av dette vil bli klarere etterhvert 🙂 Så heng med 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: