Satyananda yoga

Satyananda Yoga includes Hatha- (physical yoga poses), Raja- (the knowledge of the mind), Jnana- (the path of knowledge), Bhakti- (the path of heart and emotion) and Karma Yoga (the path of service). Satyananda Yoga springs out from the Sivananda Yoga tradition. Swami Satyananda Saraswati founded the Bihar School of Yoga in 1963/4, and wrote over 80 books.

Yoga Nidra originates from Swami Satyananda, and slowly it has been adopted by other yoga traditions. Mindfulness comes from Yoga Nidra, and is accustomed to the need of the western world. Oslo, Norway, is the capitol of the world when it comes to Yoga for pregnancies. This also originates from Swami Satyananda.

Satyananda Yoga does not adhere to any dogma or religious beliefs. It provides everybody, regardless of social, racial, political or religious background, with tools for health, peace of mind, happiness, joy, well-being and an inspired vision for their lives. Practitioners of Satyananda Yoga are of all ages, levels of fitness and come from many walks of life.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s